• Home
  • Phase I of the James E. Clyburn Transportation Research and Conference Center

Phase I of the James E. Clyburn Transportation Research and Conference Center

The Transit Research Center (TRC) construction project includes approximately 8,500 square feet of automotive research and education space, a Chiller Plant, and site preparation work. The TRC building includes three automotive research bays with recessed observed areas beneath two bays. A fourth bay is dedicated to the cleaning and test preparation of vehicles. In addition to the research area, the TRC houses administrative and training space. The chiller plant includes a mechanical yard with an ice storage chiller system to include pumps and piping. There is also a fueling station with underground gasoline/diesel storage tanks constructed as a part of this building.


Construction of the Emily E. Clyburn Archive Center will begin in the Summer of 2012. The Archive Center is a three story structure programmed to house space for storing and viewing archives generated through research and development and to transportation researcher office space. This facility will function as a full service archival building to include accessioning/isolation space and archival staffing. There will be a virtual library for archive viewing in addition to secured “hands-on” viewing space. The facility will be equipped with classroom space to provide training and conferencing/meeting space.


Thu, 1 Sep 2011


General Building Elevation


Thu, 1 Sep 2011


Training Room


Thu, 1 Sep 2011


Vehicle Research Bays


Thu, 1 Sep 2011


Chilled Water Distribution Pump Room


Thu, 1 Sep 2011


Ice Storage System and Chiller Plant


Wed, 31 Aug 2011


Eastside elevation after landscaping


Fri, 29 Jul 2011


Eastside elevation prior to landscaping


Sun, 17 Jul 2011


Exterior Metal Siding Installation


Sun, 17 Jul 2011


Fueling Station Canopy and Drive Installation


Fri, 17 Jun 2011


South Elevation Cast Stone Installation


Fri, 17 Jun 2011


Fueling Station Canopy and Drive Installation


Thu, 12 May 2011


Exterior Metal Siding Track and Chiller Plant Cast Stone Installation


Thu, 12 May 2011


Concrete Drive and Fueling Station Subgrade Preparation


Mon, 18 Apr 2011


East Concrete Drive Installation and Site Preparation


Fri, 11 Mar 2011


Structural Steel Installation


Wed, 02 Mar 2011


Chiller Plant Masonry Block Installation


Wed, 23 Feb 2011


Masonry Block and Structural Steel Installation


Thu, 10 Feb 2011


Chiller Plant Ice Storage Tank Installation


Fri, 21 Jan 2011


East Masonry Block Installation and Site Preparation


Thu, 23 Dec 2010


West Concrete Drive and Loading Dock Ramp Installation


Fri, 10 Dec 2010


Foundation Wall and Masonry Block Wall Installation


Mon, 15 Nov 2010


Chiller Plant Footing and Foundation Wall Installation


Thu, 28 Oct 2010


Foundation Wall Installation


Fri, 08 Oct 2010


Installation of Concrete Slab Above Recessed Observation Area


Wed, 29 Sep 2010


Installation of Concrete Slab Above Recessed Observation Area


Thu, 02 Sep 2010


Preparation for the Installation of Concrete Recessed Observation Area Walls


Fri, 13 Aug 2010


Excavation in Preparation for the Recessed Observation Area Walls


Sun, 01 Aug 2010


Installation of Site Erosion Control Measures